Many students around the world are not choosing science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What effects will this have on society

These days, there is an accelerating trend among students that opt for different subjects instead of science in higher education. There are several reasons contributing to this problem, as well as potentially long-term effects. Students interests and investments in education are important and major causes of lack of science graduates in today’s world. Many pupils have found no excitement in some subjects such as mathematics or STEM. For example, Physics or chemical required diploma research which is only appealing to those who have an passion on so students who do not have firm determination may suffer from it. What’s more, low education quality also undermines the choices of these students. For instance, undeveloped countries can not provided high range of modern machines in laboratories so that not enough quantity for research data. These choices will have drastic long-term effects. If there is not enough scientists, the countries can not enrich themselves with inventions. By means of not enough experts, some regions will rely on prosperous countries in applying technology to daily life, they can not control the prices of those, which is not cost-effective. Consequently, the dilemma appear that there will be high number of lowered paid employees, leading to reduction in contributing in governmental finance.To illustrate, many conglomerates especially Samsung or Apple, the required staffs with spectacular skills in technology, so, the graduates that was not taking science majors will not be approved. Lack of capability in science fields and inadvertent investment on practical tools, have certainly contributed to the decreasing in number of experts. If not properly taken care of, these problems could cause harmful consequences in society.