The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The traditional family's eating time is becoming no longer popular nowadays. There are many reasons behind this phenomenon and it also leads to many negative impacts. Obviously, there are reasons why the custom of family gatherings is disappearing. One of the main reasons is the busy schedules of family members. They can either eat fast foods or processed foods to continue working or studying or eat out with colleagues for convenience with their plans. Consequently, they would not consume more food when they come back home. The second reason is that parents have an economic burden, so they have to work longer hours or find a part- time job to bring up their children and pay living expenses. As a result, parents do not have enough time to prepare and have meals with their children. Hence / as a result, many detrimental effects from that have appeared. The first impact is related to weak family ties. Since most meals in the family are the time to share and talk among parents and their children, now it is becoming rare in order to make room for personal schedules. Thus, there is the appearance of distance between family members due to the lack of sharing and communication. Another effect for this action/practice/situation can refer to health. When eating out or eating too much fast food instead of home-cooked meals, it can lead to weight gain or digestive problems, because those foods are not qualified to consume in the long term. In conclusion, different schedules/ time limitations and financial pressure are the main reasons leading to the cases that people spend less time having meals and this causes harmful effects on family relationships and health. To tackle this, arranging personal plans appropriately and changing lifestyle/ their behaviours to have more quality time with their family.