People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

In recent years, a wide spectrum of people have settled in urban areas. In cities, there are a plethora of challenges faced by city dwellers. Based on this pretext, the following paragraphs will discuss whether the government should suggest people shift back to regional areas. To begin with, many metropolitan cities are hovered with numerous difficulties ranging from rising cost of living like hikes in food and fuel prices, and tuition fees to growing population. More than half of people’s income is spent on fulfilling their basic needs, and therefore, extremely difficult to save money for the future. For example, in Sydney, the cost of childcare has risen from 100$ to 200$ per week for a single child. This is not enough, as the expenditure of a week’s grocery has increased to at least 30 per cent post covid onwards. Another significant issue is that developed cities like Sydney are also facing an influx of international students. Hence, a young cohort of individuals is finding it difficult for accommodation and even if they are getting it, the rent prices are skyrocketing. Besides, along with the rising rent, vehicles like cars have also increased and this has limited space for pedestrians and creates congestion on the road. Despite the challenges, the government authorities should resolve issues and not encourage the masses to settle back in rural areas. The reason behind this is that in cities there is potential growth in getting well-paid jobs, and better accessibility to schools, hospitals and medicines. Hence, this will not only aid affluent people but also the middle-class group to lead a quality life. To conclude, large cities face different problems consisting of high expenditure on food, rent and high fee structure in educational institutions to growing population. At the same time, there’s a possibility that the inhabitants can lead a progressive life due to the availability of necessities consisting of better education and medical facilities. Thus, considering the upsides of staying in big cities is more beneficial than living in small towns.