Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. So, sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

High carbohydrate consumption can deteriorate an individual’s well-being. Nowadays, many processed items contain a greater quantity of sugar which is responsible for causing health-related problems. however, the government should apply taxes on these companies and their products, so that individuals can consume healthy or less sugary foods. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with the notion, and discuss how the government can raise the prices of sugary items to encourage individuals to adopt a healthier lifestyle. Currently, many organizations are manufacturing processed items which contain a high amount of carbohydrate. Although sugar helps in food preservation, it can also deteriorate human health. For instance, diabetes and obesity, are the most common problems which increase both mortality and morbidity rates in Pakistan. According to a 2023 survey in Pakistan, approximately 70% of deaths are occurred due to these complications. Furthermore, the issues are arising over time, because people are consuming artificial sweet in a large amount. Almost all ready-made snack contains artificial sweets, and public just buy them without knowing the consequences. However, the consumption of sugary foods and drinks is common because of their affordability and accessibility in every shop. Dunkin Donuts, for instance, sell a donut for 2 dollars while a Kiwi has cost around 12 dollars per kg. similarly, soda drink costs around 1.5 dollars whereas the cost of mineral water is 5 dollars. Due to this huge difference, people prefer to buy cheap food rather than healthy. In order to avoid this unhealthy trend, the authority need to impose heavy taxation on these products and must arrange awareness programs for the public, to make them realize how these sugary foods and drinks cause well-being dilemma. In conclusion, many companies are using high levels of sugar in their items which helps in the preservation of food, but these can also lead to many health-related issues. The government need to come forward and impose high taxes on sweet products so that people buy healthy food.