In many cities around the world, traffic is serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

Traffic jams in big cities are an increasing problem throughout the world. Some believe this caused by human activity instead of natural reasons. It is agreed that traffic has gained momentum over the last decade and some measures must be implemented. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide plausible solution to resolve the same. To begin with, there is a problem of overpopulation and unsuitable civil engineering design. For instance, each modern megacity was started as a little town long ago. Its streets and overall design was not oriented to one million plus citizens in the fourseeable future. That is why, it is not a great idea to enhance current cities' capabilities and try to cram as many people inside as possible. Given the aforemention problems, some alternative measures could be implemented. Modern Germany could be an inspiring example. They created strong networks between average size aglomerations and distributed production and supply chains throughout the country. It helped Germans to manage overpopulation in each individual city and prevent traffic formation. To sum up, It can be cleary seen, that overcrowed carriageways in megacities are a challenging issue for every major. Some government prefer to build new roads and try to develop new public transport chains. On the other hand, Germans showed us a wonderful alternative how to strengthen not only one city, but whole country.