Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There is an ongoing debate about the true purpose of undergraduate studies. For some, it is necessary for colleges to provide students with skills that are applicable for work later on in the real world. For others, college is a place for students to simply gain knowledge from courses with not too much regard for their real-life applications. I believe that colleges are not merely a place for strict textbook learning. As a matter of fact, colleges can provide avenues for youth to explore many things and discover new insights about themselves that they might have not been able to do in high school. I think that the academic aspect of college should just focus on teaching students about the syllabus. But when it comes to real-life skills, students should be proactive and look for ways to learn about them from sources outside of the classroom. From my experience, I am a psychology student who discovered a passion for marketing through becoming a member of various extracurricular organizations. I wouldn’t gain these practical skills if I had kept myself confined in the classrooms. To me, the main function of university is to help me obtain a formal degree that will give me credibility to work. Other than that, it also provides a space for me to network and develop my skills through organizations that will be a plus point for me to be hired by my employers. All in all, I view that the main function of university is to provide students with both academic knowledge and practical skills that are integral for the real world. Students can access the former through classes, but for the latter, they can start exploring more non-academic opportunities.