One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion has become a major problem in most cities as a result of bad roads and non-functional traffic light. However, this can be solved by construction of good roads and provision of traffic light by the government. To start with, one of the major reasons for traffic in cities are bad roads.To elucidate further, the city centers are badly damaged with potholes and the the roads are narrow this made most drivers to drive at a slow pace and carefully in order to avoid being trapped in the potholes hence, if they drive without caution their vehicles will get spoilt. As a result of doing this other cars behind will cue up waiting thereby causing congestion on the road. For example, a survey conducted by the chairman of Road safety corps Imo chapter revealed that the rate of traffic in wethedral roundabout Owerri is outrageous as a result of multiple potholes on the road.He further said that it get worse during the rainy season. Secondly, most of the traffic light are not functioning. In other words most people want to meet up at their various places of work, they lack patience and want to move at once without allowing other cars to take turns by so doing it leads to road blockage because every vehicle moves at once. Therefore, spoilt roads and bad traffic light contributes to road traffic. Nevertheless, there are several solutions to reduce hold-up in the urban areas. Firstly, the government should ensure that road project are given to a proficient contractor and it is well built with solid materials to avoid breakage. To illustrate, after the construction of the central road that leads to market in my area by Julius and co group of companies a well known contractor there has been no record of road -block and breakage. Secondly, traffic lights should be be built in all the major roads in the city and a fine should be given to offenders. If these measures are implemented there will be reduction of road congestion. In conclusion, traffic-jam in the metropolis is caused by spoilt road and bad traffic light signal, however, the authorities should build good roads and make provisions for traffic light.