The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology that can prevent and solve crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crimes have always been an impediment to the development of society. Over the ages, as the range of violations has increased, the investigators have refined the ways to solve the transgressions. As a result, it is true that the crime rate is decreasing due to progress in technology that is used to resolve criminal activities. With the onset of forensic science, brutal acts like murder and rape can be accurately solved using blood samples, fingerprints, skin patches, or hair and dental samples. Earlier, it was dicey ground as the results were mistake-prone. But now, courts can rely on the DNA examination due to its high percentage of conclusive nature. It not only allows the judge to sort out the highly complicated cases but also helps to reopen the past cases and pass a legitimate verdict. Digitalization of criminal records and investigation data will help the detectives and police to track down suspects or criminals. This will also deter crimes at an early stage. The presence of tracking devices, as well as monitoring devices like CCTVs, Electronic Tagging, Tracking devices, have brought the rate of thefts under control. Even accidents due to rash driving have been reduced due to the traffic cameras and speed trackers. Moreover, social media is an important medium to make the public aware of cybercrimes and fraudulent cases. For example, RBI has begun to advertise on different platforms in the various ways cyberbullies steal money from bank accounts. Earlier, some people even used social media like Facebook, Whatsapp to steal identity, trick people to steal money as well as engage in human trafficking. But now, the public has become acquainted with different ways to protect them and is on the alert not to fall prey to hackers and other criminals. Nonetheless, the advancement of technology has also led to an increase in the variety of crimes. For example, in the past, cases of cybercrimes were nil. But now, they are on the rise. As our investigators are using different high-profile techs to solve crimes, the criminals can also gain access to such technology. Fortunately, every problem has a solution, and our brave warriors are capable of finding them. Thus, in my opinion, in recent times, police and investigators have been successfully able to avert certain frauds, reduce crime rates and protect people with the help of advanced technology.