Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years,that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.how true do you think this statement is?what measures can government to to discourage people from using their cars

Cars are important vehicles that help people transport themselves and their goods and services over long distances. It is true that car ownership has increased rapidly over the past thirty years in many cities around the world due to social, economic, and political reasons. Car ownership can be linked to social reasons as people are the ones with the skills to create and manage them. Studies show that humans are one of the few species whose population has increased exponentially over the past thirty years. While there is an option for carpooling, people want to grow independently from their families and friends so this desire will increase the demand for cars. This will undoubtedly lead to more traffic jams in many cities, especially those with high population density. For instance, cities like Beijing and New Delhi are often reported on international news channels to have extraordinarily massive traffic jams in recent years. Another potential reason for the increase in car ownership is the economic factor. The increasing human population is correlated with a rising level of economic activity. People need to provide various goods and services in order to make a living, some of which can rely solely on cars. To begin with, many rental services provide cars to people who cannot afford to purchase and only rent them for leisure purposes, such as Uber in North America. Another type of business involves car makers like Toyota and Volkwagen with branches all over the world not only to provide cars to various communities. Together with improved channels of technology and communication, the high level of economic activities furthermore enables people to order goods and services over long distances, providing business to courier companies that specialise in delivery using cars. In many Asian countries, Foodpanda is a popular mobile delivery platform for food and home goods. The final factor that influences car ownership and traffic jams is politics. Governments will encourage people to increase the local population and boost economic activity in their communities which increases car ownership but they may not be able to keep up with the infrastructure to accommodate many cars. Governments want to increase the national GDP so they will neglect the educational and environmental concerns arising from this issue which inevitably leads to traffic jams. Governments need to take some measures to dissuade them from using cars so much in order to solve traffic jams. In the case of big cities with good infrastructure, the solution is to encourage people to opt for public transport. Taking Hong Kong for instance, the government has increased the costs for getting a driver's license and purchasing and maintaining cars as well as charging costs for parking space. These costs are likely to convince people that public transport is more affordable and convenient, especially when other modes of transport such as the subway and light rail can help them beat the concern of traffic. Another way governments can persuade people not to use cars is to build cycling paths and sidewalks that are more friendly for cycling and walking. This will not only reduce traffic jams but also promote a healthy lifestyle as these other modes of transportation come with health benefits. To conclude, car ownerships can lead to traffic jams due to various social, economic, and political reasons. Governments can provide both positive, such as cycling paths, and negative reinforcement, such as increasing costs for car ownership, to solve the issue of traffic jams.