Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Owners of cars have risen so fast during the last three decades and it has caused serious vehicle congestion. The government should take the necessary steps to tackle this burning status. Nowadays, people are highly connected with their personal vehicles for numerous reasons. Such as, going to the office and school. Because of a lot of car users, it creates trouble in the road. As a result, individuals are stuck on the way and create traffic jams, which are the main reasons for losing daily working hours. Additionally, humans use their own transport for travelling short distances. So, the more number of cars on the roads, which is another cause behind this occurrence. Moreover, the public who live in city areas feel comfortable using their motor, which encourages them to break the rules of transportation numbers on the highway. For instance, Dhaka city produces more traffic congestion situations. On the other hand, the government can follow some laws and take proper steps to control this odd environment. For example, if they maintain the license accurately, the fake ownership of motors gradually decreases. In addition, they make some extra rules such as, giving punishment when operating during peak periods, and only a limited number of vehicles are permitted. Furthermore, authorities can encourage people through media, like television documentaries and newspaper publicity to use public transport, which is cheap and available. It is the best solution to reduce these circumstances. If the ministry built more bypass ways, it could help to solve this issue. Finally, authorities can give subsidies to railways, tram and local bus services for comfortable journeys, which influence humans to use these. Such as, in Bangladesh, Metrorail reduces public hessel, travelling costs and time. In conclusion, unless take proper steps against this, it will cause for economic downturn and the whole country become chaos.