Some people believe that governments must apply high taxes to provide good public services for everyone. Give your opinion

Debates around appropriate tax rates have long been in existence. While some people are of the opinion that higher tax rates are required for governments to provide great public systems for citizens, others are of the opinion that higher tax rates do not equal great public services. This essay will argue in favour of the former, that higher tax rates do indeed equate better public services, although not all classes of individuals and companies should be taxed equally. Around the world, citizens rely on the government for services & basic infrastructure such as roads, electricity, and health care systems. These services are largely funded by taxes paid by individuals and corporate entities. As more monies are realised from taxes, the higher the chances of governments improving on the quality of services it can deliver. Multiple researches have shown that countries with high tax regimes like Canada enjoy better quality and even more public services than countries with low tax rates like India. Obviously, there is a direct correlation between tax rates and quality of public services. However, fairness should be exercised when applying taxation rates. Individuals and organisations should be taxed according to their earnings, where higher earnings equal higher taxes and vice-versa. High earning citizens and companies should be incentivised to counteract the chances of people losing motivation to work towards climbing the economic hierarchy. For example, Canada implements a tiered taxation system based on income classes and also gives incentives such as reduced interest rates on loans to high earners. To sum up, if tax rates are too high, there may be negative consequences. Thus, care must be taken in formulating taxation systems that promote equity, justice and fairness. This essay argued that high tax rates by governments no doubt result in improved services for its citizens but the principle of fairness and equity should be considered when setting these rates. In my opinion, it is important that governments find the right amount of tax to institute per income class whilst deploying incentives so that it is fair for all.