modern forms of communication have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise of social media and modern communication forms have allowed people to communicate to each other without the needs of meeting the other person off the line. While it proves to bring benefits for mankind, I firmly believe that the negative effects outweigh the advantages. First and foremost, it is important to appreciate the positive sides of modern devices. Without such communication methods, it would be nearly impossible for people in different countries to talk to one another. However, the presence of social media also reduce the amount of time people spend to see their friends. This impacted the general mental health of the population due to the feeling of loneliness it brings. For example, research proved that today's generation are more prone to depression and anxiety due to the presence of modern technologies. Moreover, social media has decreased the general benevolence of society as a whole. People are becoming more individualized and often do not care about the wellbeing of their peers. For instance, only 10% of citizens living in Chicago actually know their neighbors that live right beside them. As people are becoming more individualistic, their mental health deteriorated since they do not have any daily interaction with living beings. To conclude, it is imperative to notice that novel technologies have brought progress to our civilization. However, I agree that it can decrease the overall mental health of the citizens due to its negative effects.