Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that public libraries are not longer that needed since information technologies completely fulfill their role. This essay completely desagrees disagree with that statement because libraries are still one of the most quiet and convinient places where people can learn and have an access to expensive and exclusive books for free. Firstly, book storages are valuable not only because they are the source of educational and entertainment materials but of their comfortable atmosphere to consume the information. Not all people have their own facilities to study and read in piece and quiet, hence, libraries are their only option. Besides, modern libraries are well-equiped with computes, have an Internet access, vending machines, etc., which makes them rather pleasant to spent time in. For examples, many students prefer to do their homework and prepare to their exams particulary in libraries because they can stay there without fear being disturbed all the time. Another reason why municipal libraries are still essential is that it is well known that buying printed editions or even their electron versions might cost all lot of money, and not everyone can afford buying them all the time. It becomes quite sensitive for the budget especially if they are intended for childen, and it is common knowledge that little ones need a lot of them, or for pupils and students, who are often on tight ends with their finances. As example, in eastern european countries many parents and young people have a habit to borrow books and magazines in national libraries in order to get the newest or rare editions without spending to much financial resorces on them. To conclude, public libraries are still one of the key sources of information, and their role should not be underestimated. I beleive that due to their existence many people have a chance to learn and obtain new knowledge and skills, and have an access to expensive and fresh published editions.