The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.

The proportion of fat kids in the western countries has grown by nearly 20% over ten years. This essay will discuss the causes and effects that may occur from this trend. One of the main causes of the obesity are consumption of fast food, high-calorie snacks and poor diet. For example, according to information from one magazine “Children of America” which was released in 2023, almost 80% of pupils in the West eat burgers, pizza or other types of harmful food after school classes or when they meet with their friends. Furthermore, fast food contains substances that are addictive as well as have destructive and harmful effects on children’s organs, hence, they are starting to gain weight faster. In addition to this, high calorie snacks like crisps, carbonated drinks and fatty food also destroy kid’s bodies. One of the main consequences of obesity is developing both physical and psychological problems at young age. For instance, heart disease, diabetes or high blood pressure from the physical side and depression, insecurities, absences of self-esteem and confidence from the psychological side. As a result, these problems would complicate not only the life of a child but also the parent’s life. There would be regular hospital visits, drug intakes and excruciating pain. Furthermore, depression and insecurities may lead to suicidal signs. In conclusion, food is one of the main causes of obesity and effects from that kind of lifestyle may lead to serious problems in mental and physical health, which in the future escalate to a fatal outcome.