Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Choosing a profession has always been a challenging task for young students. It determines a student’s following 10 years. Some people suggest that university students should freely study whatever they are keen on during their academic years. Some rational people believe that students should only attend subjects that will benefit in the future. In my essay, I will explore both statements and make a conclusion with my personal point of view. In every decade, society has always needed specific professions more than others and the head leaders of a country support the field. Nowadays, in European countries besides the blue-collar workers, we lack computer scientists in the white-collar sector. Youngsters who do not know their advantages, tend to go with the flow and listen to parents suggesting well-paid jobs. When I was preparing for the imminent application, my close friends who did not know what field they preferred, chose based on their scores from different subjects and the salaries they could get. And now after 8 years, however, some of them realised their interests, and have started to focus more on that, while others work in the profession they learnt and enjoy all the benefits that their workplace provides them. Besides, there are motivated students who know exactly their dreams, and their advantages which helps them to keep their excitement. However, they know exactly that, in some cases, their salary will not reach the average, they can sacrifice their needs or decrease them to the minimum for their calling. In addition, following a dream is the most challenging path people can choose, because the higher we want to reach the more difficulties we will encounter. Moreover, because the chosen field is what we care about, we tend to disappoint in some cases when we expect more. In conclusion, in the long run, and for individual thoughts, we should think twice about the subjects we want to study. Wasting time on a study that we do not really prefer, just causes suffering. In my opinion, if we have an opportunity in our life, work should be our interest as well. This way we will not regret anything in the end.