Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is thought by some that socializing with office colleagues after work hours is ideal, whereas, others say that this should be avoided. In my opinion, I strongly believe that there should be a balance in managing both these aspects. To begin with, work colleagues are a major part of any individual's everyday life as they spend over 8 hours during the day with them. However, during this time, there wouldn't be much opportunity to get to know the team members as everyone is focused on getting their daily tasks completed. In such situations meeting them outside work hours would provide the opportunity to build a good rapport with everyone. For example, my previous employer encouraged everyone to meet atleast once a week during weekends or evenings as it certainly helped to build good relationships with the employees. This eventually helped to improve results on all team projects. One the other hand, others believe that it is important to seperate work-life from social life. That is to say, as everyone spends the majority of the hours with their staff members during the day, the rest of the time should be allocated to spend time with the loved ones or family members. This is pivotal because personal relationships ought to be nurtured and failing to do so will result in failed marriages and stressfull relationships. For example, a study conducted by the University of Harvard reported that 70% of marriages fail in USA because people are not spending enough time with their spouses. In my view, I believe that there should be a balance in managing both sides. Someone can socialise once a week with colleagues after hours while also spend rest of the days with their loved ones. In conclusion, while some people believe that it is wise to spend evening hours with their team members others may not agree stating that work-life should be separated from social life. However, I believe that there should be a balance in managing both sides.