A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current days, more and more investments are done to find fossil fuels, such as petrol. As the sources of oil are becoming each time fewer, some people argue that it would be more logical to apply more money to developing new sources of power, like energy from the sun and from the wind. I totally agree with this statement because the reserves of oil are finite, besides these new technologies tend to be more sustainable and eco-friendly than energy from petrol. Firstly, it is important to realise that the oil stored will finish some day. This type of energy is not renewable and causes several problems for the environment. Some scientists believe that fossil fuels are responsible for climate change and global warming. Thus, there is no more reason to invest more financial resources in this kind of supply. New technologies, for example, electric cars and solar panels are already available, and the costs are decreasing even more. Additionally, it can be more difficult to search for new oil reserves, especially those located in the pre-salt layer above the sea. The nowadays technology needed to extract oil from the deep sea is too expensive and it will be paid only in the long-term. To conclude, I strongly believe in the idea of developing modern and sustainable sources of energy, such as wind, solar, and geothermic, for instance. Moreover, popular pressure should be placed on the public authorities and on companies to invest more money in ecological resources of power, to promote better conditions for nature and all forms of life on Earth.