When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are different factors people consider when making a career move, and the size of the salary is considered to be the most important one. While I agree that earning enough money is essential in order to lead a comfortable life, I also believe that job satisfaction is of equal importance. On the one hand, people need sufficient financial resources to address their fundamental needs which include food, housing, education, and clothing. If people opted for low-paying jobs for some reason, they would probably be unable to fulfil such necessities and therefore put themselves and their family members in danger. For instance, in a nuclear family, the parents might choose to work as part-time freelancers so that they spend more time with their children. As honourable as it may sound, such a family might not be able to afford fresh fruits, which are highly nutritious and expensive, most of the time. They may also be unable to send their children to good schools due to high fees. This will lead to the young ones suffering from not only malnutrition but also poor education. Therefore, many people consider a high salary to be the backbone of a balanced life. On the other hand, a workplace with poor conditions or slim prospects for personal growth, I believe, will harm the workers as much as a low-paying career choice does even if there is a high salary involved. For instance, when a young and enthusiastic graduate joins a large firm in which the employees smear one another to gain an advantage for a promotion, she might choose to hide her talents in hopes of not becoming a victim of someone’s lies. Eventually, despite earning a decent salary, she will become clinically depressed due to the frustration and stress that her job causes. However, if she chooses a job with a decent salary and a cooperative environment, she will not only live a stress-free life but also grow faster with all the help she receives from her colleagues. Hence, job satisfaction is also needed for a healthy and fulfilling life. In conclusion, even though money is one of the requirements of a decent lifestyle, in my opinion, people should not sacrifice their mental health for it, and a job should provide both a sufficient salary and a friendly environment.