Question: In order to alive traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportlong. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent years, to deal with traffic problems, the government has decided to tax private car owners and invest a massive amount of their budget to build a public transportation system. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this measure and provide a logical conclusion. Firstly, for positive points, a higher tax is extremely useful to decrease the number of cars in our society resulting in a decrease in rates of traffic jams and accidents. Moreover, it is convenient for citizens to commute by public transportation because they do not worry about parking. According to the survey released by Tokyo Transport Hall, after they carried out the policy to limit the number of cars in 2022, the rate of traffic accidents will be down by 23% in 2023. In brief, taxing private car owners and constructing the public system is beneficial for traffic problems. On the contrary, this strategy would have some negative effects on other aspects. The vehicle industry will be more and more terrible because of less need for private cars. In addition, investing extra budget on public transport could sacrifice other well-being in our society. For example, in China, the subway system cost 10 billion in 2003, while the budget of the national education system declined by 5 million. Thus, governments should consider all the effects when enforcing new policies. In conclusion, it is controversial for governments to tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. This strategy could lead to other industrial and well-being problems although it can solve traffic accidents and decrease the number of cars on roads. As a result, governments should plan in more detail with diverse suggestions to avoid citizens's complaints.