You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree. You should write at least 250 words.

There is a common belief that educational institutions such as schools are responsible of taking care of only academic success of students. While I agree that schools should provide pupils with a variety of skills that can be implemented for an effective learning or future career building, I would highlight my personal point that other unrelated skills should be a free choise of each and learned through their lives, out of academic activities. Trying to mix the certain range of diverse occupations while studing in school with an intention to make studying funnier or broaden students' horizons often can lead to an opposite effect. In other words, the excessive amount of diversification in activities can lead to confusion of intersts and lost of focus, which therefore, leads to a poor performance in all subjects. For example, additional classes including cookery, dressmaking and woodwork in Sovet Union were extracted in new educational system, as it showed a lower index in pupils' performance on examed subjects. In terms of importance in being able to cook or make things by one's hands, all the related skills fortunatly can be tought in home by ancestors, or by simple single practice, or with friends. Thus, trancforming the process into opporunity to make new memories with close ones and settling the strong boundaries between academic area of life and creativity, making it easier to consider those occupations as an off-time and strictly concentrate on studies in educational institutions. In conclusion, exposing people by an extra amount of opportunities and subjects to choose from is not neccessarily a beneficial idea, because it can distract us, because minimalism and a great state of flow, and a deep focus mode is sometimes everything we need for a good performance. Also, an opportunuty to leant creative skills by oneselef making it seems even a more illogical idea.