Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others beliece it is more important to give their time and attentiion to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Additional or optional subjects are sometimes interesting for some students in a university. Some of them are thinking the other way to spend their time with completing a qualification courses or tests. In my opinion, those two ways of studying in university are both great as long as they use their time optimally for their growth, although they have different kind of benefits and drawbacks for the students. For example, the first one is good if the students find an intriguing subject that match their passion. They will have more motivation studying that subject and refresh their minds from other main subjects that are relatively tough for them. They also will have a more broad knowledge of various subjects that they cannot gain in their main subjects. I have taken the oceanography major in my college and mainly I studied the physical oceanography, but I also took a subject of fisheries to gain more knowledge about fish, how to catch them, and their markets in Indonesia. It was definitely fun to take a while off the confusing equations from oceanography and I have a more understanding of how fisheries sector works in Indonesia. Consequently speaking, it may be or may not be significant for the future career that the student will take. Equally important, the second choice proposed a more ensuring goods for the students that have a clearer vision of their career. A qualification means that they are formally capable of doing something, proved by an official certificate from an official organization. This qualification is very valuable in applying for a job. The company that they have been submitting for will notice that they are more qualified for the vacant position compared to other candidate without a qualification certificate. For example, if a student wants to be a manager in survey works, it would be good if they have a certificate in leading a project. They will be an expert in what they can but unfortunately they will have a fewer knowledge of various subjects other than their speciality. To sum it up, both options are good for a student in their university. Those options are obviously a lot better that doing nothing in their free time. With the discussed pros and cons for them, I hope anyone that reads this can choose better their future.