Some people think mobile (cell) phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that there is a sentiment to restrict the use their mobile phones in public areas. However, I completely disagree with that notion for several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, mobile phones already become inseperable from essential tasks in the public places. People now are using their phones to conduct transactions such as purchase and payments, leading to time savings and increased efficiency. Obviously, banning the usage of them creates inconveniences and delays for both people and businesses. For example, to avoid longer queue at the ticketing booth, the Japanesse government launches a barcode entry system for those who purchase the ticket via their mobile phones, which consequently makes everyone quickly enter the public areas. A similar trend is also applied by the Korean government who decides to install a mobile digital payment scheme to their all public transportations in order to save the time for passengers and drivers. Furthermore, restricting smartphones in public places can make people disorient. That is applicable especially for solo travelers who cannot speak the local language. For instance, Dhimas Ramadhan, an Indonesian tourist travelling Japan for the first time, relied solely on his mobile phone for 24/7 to navigate the routes on his three days trip. Without the sophisticated invention of Google Maps, he might get lost while exploring local libraries, parks, or restaurants. To conclude, while the rising opinion to prohibit mobile phones usage in the public places remain strong, I strongly disgaree with the idea because they have been integral to perform essential actions recently and it can disorient people during their trip in unfamiliar surroundings.