The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Many people believe English will be the only as their primary language due to tourism effect. Having only one language to be spoken will impact the connection and development of other countries globally, however it might also affect countries ’ identity as their language also represent their culture. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this notion. On the one hand, learning English is one of the most important skills to acquire for many people as it becomes primary needs right now. In addition, education has put english as mandatory subject for their students. Therefore, to have only one language and make English as the one and only language will reduce the burden for many people to learn a second language. For instance, people will no longer need to translate and read different words if they go to other countries. It will help people to reduce the barrier to connect and get more benefits to learn. On the other hand, a language is also an identity for many nations as it has historical values. Furthermore, the development for a language take thousand years for some countries. For example, many asian countries have their own writing characters such as Arab, Korean, and China because they value their own language as it their own identities. Therefore, the idea of having only one language will affect many countries as their language make them different from the rest. In conclusion, having one language as main language will give some advantages in terms of learning and development for both individuals and nations. However, I believe countries need to have their own uniqueness. Thus, languages should be protected as many countries believe it become their identity. There are many solutions for people to connect but it should not sacrificing languages.