In order to solve traffic problems should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of suchal a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

To manage the problems with regards to the traffic, individuals who own private cars must pay tax to the government which will be used to enhance public transportation. In this essay, advantages and disadvantages of the solution will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Nowadays, traffic problems are considered challenges to individuals. There are some disadvantages of the solution to this issue, one of which is this will be considered as an extra expenditure for private car owners. This will be another tax to be paid or an additional cut in their income. In addition, it might affect the automotive industry specifically car companies who are selling automobiles. People might have second thoughts of buying a new car, as a result there will be a decrease in car sales and purchases. On the other hand, there are also benefits to this issue. For some people, they may refuse to buy a second car or third one, which means every household possesses one unit of car. Thus, lesser cars travelling on the highways which leads to decreased traffic incidence. Moreover, the government will have enough funds to carry out their plans and projects to enhance public transportation. For example, street maintenance, road widenings and construction of alternative ways such as overpass and underpass to promote convenience and lessen traffic issues. To sum up, there are many factors to be considered when addressing issues related to traffic. It is important for people to be aware of these, for them to be able to have informed decisions when it comes to the solutions on how to lessen certain traffic related problems.