In order to solve traffic problems should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, traffic is one of the major issues in almost countries. There is a debate about putting taxes on private car owners more to enhance public transportation. In this essay I will discuss the reasons why there are benefits and drawbacks of this action. The benefit of additional taxes to private vehicles is greatly helpful to government because this helps improve the public transportation by adding infrastructures such as roads, bridges, railways, and tunnels that will reduce traffic congestion, road accidents and promote convenience to consumers. For instance, if there are wider road and alternative routes there will be decrease in traffic volume and traffic accidents. Also the maintenance of the infrastructures will be addressed because there is funding from private car taxes. On the other hand, there are more disadvantages of paying high taxes for personal car owners just to have the solution to traffic jam. This is an extra expenses and burden for those who own vehicles. This will force them to either sell the car or stop using it. Also, for those who want to own a car will have a second thoughts of purchasing brand new car or even second hand car because of the imposed taxes. In addition, travelling to far and secluded places without the use of their private cars is much harder and difficult because not all places have accessed Change the form of the verb access show examples to government roads. Moreover, the automobile businesses like car rentals, will definitely slow down due to less consumer of their product. In summary, in order to lessen the traffic problem, the public sector should find another solution aside from taking heavy taxes to private car owners because many consideration involved in this matter.