Some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Is it good or bad, to what extent do you agree?

It is argued that urban traffic congestion can be successfully solved by providing nonstop free public transport. This essay completely agrees with the statement. As far as I am concerned, bringing in free public transport will highly decrease the occurrence of traffic congestion, because it is more rapid and also, more affordable. To begin with, by using nonstop public transport, the community will save up a great amount of money. In fact, it is less costly for those who can not afford to use their personal car on a daily basis. For instance, in California, the government introduced a similar law that considerably reduced the traffic congestion and was chosen by individuals, because they had to pay a substantial price for the tickets. On the other hand, a study shows that public transport is preferred by people due to its rapidity. Furthermore, over the years, in the urban areas, a great number of people stopped using their own vehicles, because they lost precious time being stuck in traffic and started to use the public transport. Moreover, due to its flexible program, individuals have the opportunity to commute by bus whenever they need. A good example is represented by Bucharest’s public transport network that is overused at night by people who want to go home. Undoubtedly, commuting by bus or subway is more efficient and avoids urban traffic congestion. In conclusion, implementing free public transport is vital for avoiding traffic congestion in cities. I consider that it should be prioritized primary for its cheap payment and flexible schedule and due to the fact that it enables the community to choose a less expensive way of transport.