The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Enhancement in humanity’s lives should be the prior aim of science. The writer agrees with the mentioned opinion due to both direct and indirect contribution of scientist. Science has been examined for a long time for innovating more efficent methods or searching truths. Because of their wisdom and curiosity, people are never tolerant to keep conducting activities which have many drawbacks. Therefore, our ancestors started to use tools made of bronze and iron to increase the productivity and Edison invented electronic bulbs which allow people to do night shifts. Another example is a scientist debated against a stereotype that said the Sun revolves around the Earth, leading to further exploration in the weather and the space. Scientists’ research sometimes be criticized worthless, but yet in some way, they still bring advantages to people’s lives. Many people argue scientist should not devote to invent new weapons as these tools can only destroy lives. However, despite the fact that Hiroshima and Nagasaki were ruined by nuclear bombs, there are evidences point out that there would be more loss of economy and soldiers’lives if the war continued. In addition, investing in the army can help a nation do not suffer from occupations from others. Moreover, it is believed that scientists should not make efforts to preserve and observe animals, but actually, imbalance in habitats can cause unknown catatrospheres while understanding animals’ characteristics can provide many keys to solve serious problems such as climate change or other enviromental issues In conclusion, the crucial goal of science should be enhancing qualities of life. While some inventions such as jet engines directly benefit humanity, some others still have some positive impacts in some aspects.