Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyle should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban.

There is an opinion that songs with lyrics which romanticize violence and abuse should be banned. The negative aspect is that those songs affect people's minds, especially the young generation highly influenced and may see characters from the song as role models, therefore copying their abusive behaviour. However, there are some benefits, such as free from censored content, so people can choose what to listen to by themselves. The drawback of this music is a harmful effect on children's mindset, hence those songs normalize violence, therefore some children may even lose their moral compass. For instance, there are a lot of individuals who started smoking because it was depicted in the cinematography as a romanticized activity. Moreover, children may start to be physically or verbally abusive towards their peers. Therefore, humanity should protect children from harmful content by blocking songs with texts that propagate violence and criminal lifestyles. On the other hand, censoring is an instrument that controls people for government. For instance, China is banning a lot of content, media, and applications, as a result, they have total control over citizen's information flow. Furthermore, the government can use the ban system to change and manipulate people's opinions in a useful for them way. Therefore, blocking is an instrument that gives a lot of power to the government. In conclusion, banning is an instrument that may be used to control people's opinions. However, the effect of songs that glorify criminal lifestyles is more serious, hence those lyrics mess up ideas and normalize violence among children.