Some people think that because some students find some subjects such as maths and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extend do you agree?

Although mandatory subjects like math and philosophy are commonly found in many schools all around the globe, some people perceive that the two lessons should be made optional due to their difficulty levels. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint because it seems to me that either math or philosophy are essential for honing critical thinking skills as well as developing traits that can help them overcome any kind of challenge throughout their lives. First and foremost, learning math and philosophy can foster one's ability to think critically. This is because students must use their brains when solving math problems or pondering a philosophical question. Regardless of how difficult it is for students to solve a single problem in either of these subjects, they are unconsciously strengthening logic and problem-solving skills as they go, which are beneficial to boosting their performances in other disciplines. With this in mind, if students are forced to learn such subjects, the great potential for discovery or innovation in many aspects of life can be made possible for the nation's future. Moreover, the impact of making math and philosophy as the compulsory subjects can enable students to acquire positive traits, such as resilience and preservation. Looking from my own experience, without studying math, I believe I would be the person who easily gives up whenever facing some obstacles in my life. Not only that, learning philosophy also helps me cultivate confidence to speak my mind in a logical way and broaden my perspectives of the world, enabling me to foster a wiser personality. In conclusion, as a firm believer, I suggest that every high school across the nation should take the proposal into serious consideration and implement it into their school agenda.