Some believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school while others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Language is a part of individual cognitive development and this should be taught in school. However, there is a debate of what age ought to learn certain language. There are those who think that a language subject should be taught as early as primary school because children are more receptive and adaptable at this stage compare to grown up people. But there are also those who opposed to this belief because the language course should be for adult students suggesting they are more well informed and conscious about what they are getting into. I am convinced that studying foreign language should initiate at formative years. On one hand, children who are academically taught of a secondary language as early as gradeschools have more advantages than those who are just learning the foreign language in later years. The reason for this is children would easily adapt and imitate the words they hear and see in repetition with having better enunciation and retention that is why when another language is introduce to them, there is higher possibility of developing bilingualism. Furthermore, kids are more obedient than adult. They do not have corrupted mind which are good for learning the language despite the existence of others subjects like math and sciences in their schools. So, the early the language is being taught the better the retention and the usage. On the other hand, since almost adults are more mature in many ways especially in handling time and surroundings, the study of the language should be started. There are language courses being offered in some universities that are suited for college students own schedules. By this routine the students would be able to learn the lesson at their own paces without being bombarded with all other subjects. For example, a postgraduate student wants only to enroll on a Spanish language subject for a whole semester in which this give the student ample time to learn the lesson with concentration. In addition, older students have way more experienced and interaction with different people thus learning language is much effective. In summary, those who are learning the language at formative years have better recollection than those who obtain in later years. In my own opinion, it is really advantage to have acquired foreign language at early age because this help develop good speaking habit and become more natural native speaker.