Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of languages? And if so how? Give reasons for your answers and give relevant examples.

In today’s contemporary world, the English language is taught as a foreign language in most schools all over the world. Some people think that learning English is more important than learning languages which are on the brink of extinction. In my opinion, maintaining local languages through education is more important for some reasons such as preserving one’s cultural background. One of the primary reasons behind my choice is that via studying local languages in schools gives individuals the opportunity to maintain their cultural diversity and not to lose their cultural identity. Today, nearly one-third of world’s population go abroad for some purposes such as career opportunities and high quality life. Living in a foreign country is a big advantage to learn a new language. If we take into account this fact that English is one of the most prominent and prestigious language all over the world, travellers can easily learn even without knowing it beforehand. Based on this reasoning, I contend that local languages that under the risk of dying out should be taught at schools. Turning to the other side of the argument, some people assert that everyone should learn English. I partially agree with this idea due to some factors. First of all, if a person aims at getting education or living in a different country whose mostly spoken language is English, of course, they should learn it to pave their own way. For example, a person is highly educated and tries to apply for a job in another country. If he or she does not know well-known languages their chance to get the job will decrease. All in all, teaching English or the local languages at schools is a controversial topic. To decide this idea, ome should take into consideration all the aspects such as future goals. As for the survival of languages, from my standpoint, it is a vital part of our cultural identity and it should not be forgotten.