Some people say free time activities for children should be decided and organised by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are opposite views either children ’s leisure agendas should be decided by parents or themselves. In my opinion, I believe that it is best to give children freedom to choose free-time activities because it can improve their self-confidence. On the one hand, the management of free-time activities among children must be handled by parents in order to not waste their potential. Generally, when a child tries to select particular activities to fill their leisure time, the decision underpins either from the conformity towards their friends or they just want to have fun. As a result, children will not acknowledge their area of interests as well as fully develop their potential. If parents are taking role to arranged their free-time activities; however, those risks can be alleviated. It can be seen among South Korean parents, who mostly contribute to arrange their children ’s leisure activities since they do not want to waste prominent resources that can enhance their child’s competencies, and later enables them to possess useful skills when entering higher educational stages. Regarding this notion, nevertheless, I do not think this method can benefit children in the long run because it cause lack of independency toward themselves. On the other hand, giving offspring the liberty to decide pursuits during their spare time can improve self-confidence. Entrusting children with their own choices subliminally prompts them to believe their abilities. A 2018 research by the Anna Freud Centre revealed that the consequences of autonomous parents who gave their children opportunities to choose their additional activities during school breaks, caused greater improvements in their self-confidence that consecutively preserved until their secondary school period. Meanwhile, those whom parents tried to take control over all educational and non-educational schedules, made children felt inferior, and deemed to doubt their competencies. Reflecting this view; therefore, I support the idea that enables children to have their own dependency for choosing free-time activities since it can embark positive characteristics that maintains for the long term. In conclusion, although parents -centred management of leisure activities benefits children to not waste their potential, I think this method slowly deters them from being fully independent toward themselves. Therefore, I support the belief of giving more liberty toward children in order to prompt their positive attributes, which can be useful in the long term.