In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It is a fact that female students are more inclined towards the arts namely languages while boys get allured by the sciences such as physics. As per my viewpoint it is the case in majority of subject choices due to societal pressures. However, this has to be changed in the future. To begin with, interplay of society and family roles play a big role in the decison for careers. Women usually find that they have to play the role of a mother and educate their children and also they are required to pay more attention to the household chores. Hence, arts seems to be less challenging and it has less job prospects. The families preach this ideology that they have to take dual responsibilities so they try to minimize their career impact from the beginning. However, in the case of men, it is thought that they might make their career better in the engineering field by taking physics and they can excel in such subjects due to minimal pressure from parents to participate in household responsibilities. Thus, this might be the reason for such decisions to opt the professions. On the contrary, it should be changed. The contenders argue that this has detrimental effect on the society as a whole. A female is a would be mother that is the first teacher of her offsprings. If she does not has any knowledge about science then how will she impart this to her kids? For example, some studies suggest that upbringing is the most the important step in the development of intersts interest in certain subjects which will determine the subjects children takes in the future. To conclude, it is widely witnessed that gender biases are practiced to decide careers among people. However, this needs to reformed by awareness because it can lead to an unequal society.