Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

It is widely agreed that the use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine is harmful and it should be prohibited. However, the use of tobacco and alcohol is often less concerned. I believe that the government should reinforce laws to limit the sale and use of not only hard drugs but also tobacco and alcohol. Smoking cigarettes and drinking alcohol is harmful to our health. Medical researchers stated that excessive smoking and drinking will lead to liver cirrhosis, lung cancer and heart diseases. In some cases, alcohol further damages the nervous system and thus, our brain. The nicotine and tar in cigarettes make them addictive and cause no benefits but only threats to our health. In addition, beside smokers themselves suffer from the drawbacks of this bad habit, people around them are likely to be affected by the deathly second-hand smoke. Besides being harmful to our health, heavy smoking and drinking also lead to a series of social problems. Tobacco and alcohol are expensive and addictive users often spend a great amount of fortune on buying them which in turn poses a potential financial burden to their bank account. Moreover, heavy drinking increases the chances of committing a crime. One of the common criminal behaviour is drunk driving. It is reported that there are surging number of road accidents related to drunk driving worldwide. To conclude, the use of tobacco and alcohol not only brings harm to people's health but also creates numerous social problems in general. It is of paramount importance that the government reinforce laws to limit the use of all drugs.