Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

There is a noticeable decline in people who use traditional stationeries, such as a pen or a pencil to write. This essay will discuss the possible factors that result in this trend and provide my point of view toward it. The innovation of electronic devices has profoundly impacted several aspects of human behavior. Comparing the efficiency of using a keyboard to type with writing with a pen, we might acquire an obvious outcome of the former being the winner. Meanwhile, laptop, mobile phone, and tablet, popular digital tools are all equipped with built-in keyboards; furthermore, the revolutionary function of voice-to-text is now prevalent. Therefore, for individuals, stationeries are consumable while relatively difficult to utilize, if they can simply lie on the couch or work from anywhere they choose, rather than having to sit at a desk with a pen and paper, the convenience of digital tools benefits their lives, replacing the usage of pen and pencil indeed benefiting their lives. Nevertheless, disregarding the importance of handwriting can lead to serious issues. As an adult, although mostly being educated, owing to automatic correction equipped in most applications and lacking opportunities to write with a pen, there is an increasing amount of people that cannot accurately spell some fundamental vocabularies anymore. Moreover, it might ultimately make literacy rate drop again. Hence, from my stance, this trend has adverse implications. In conclusion, the reasons behind more and more people choosing not to write with a pen might mainly be due to the accessibility while convenience, and efficiency it can be. But in my opinion, the trend will eventually lead to a certain extent to a literacy issue.