Schools concentrate far too much on traditional subjects which do not adequately prepare students for the realistic demainds of the modern working world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world where we are experiencing a technological overture as of the moment, contemporary school teaching is still far behind and falls short of the standards required for the modern working world. While ultramodern technologies are popping up each day, the schooling system is still stuck with the conservative educational policy and subjects which have become a bit of a drag for the 21st Century student. Not only is this obstructive to the growth of nations and societies but also psychologically trammeling the socio-psychological thinking of the modern child, the mindset of the modern employee, the livelihood of the modern laborer and even the political aspirations of a leader. In wealthier societies like the United States and Europe, cutting-edge technology has already begun to vastly change the job market landscape. From production to computation, the state is tending to move more and more towards automation. How is an employee who still dwells in the old manual labor theology supposed to keep up? The only answer is upskilling which would not have been required if his education had kept him up with the times. It has been reflected in the workforce of the thriving Tech companies like Microsoft, IBM, Salesforce and even in other non-tech strata like KeepTrucking, KFC etc. Children from schools who are exposed more to the modern subjects have been found to have far more grasping skills and to be more utilitarian employees rather than those who have been greased just with the traditional subjects. This is because the things taught to them in the early years have a significant impact on their overall physical, social and psychological growth. Which is why you see far more hackathons in the United States starting from Secondary Education rather than in the University years. Because exposure to state-of-the-art education is quintessential for a child’s growth. Even politicians who try appealing to people with antiquated ideas that do not resonate with the younger masses find themselves losing popular support. That is because with generations, people’s aspirations change over time. The requirements of the citizen of 2024 is far too different from the one in 2004. Even in a span of 20 years, the world has moved ahead so fast that politicians who could not keep up have faded away in the public sphere. A good example is the currently existing opposition in India which continues to pursue their agenda on the obsolete social issues of the 80s. So although traditional subjects still play a pivotal role in understanding the theories of the past, they prove inadequate in ensuring the survival of the individual in this day and age. In order for all of us to grow and prosper, there must be policy changes that must be brought in from the scale of primary education to post graduation that gravitate in favor of modern education rather than the enforcement of traditional studies. And the change for this must start from schools.