In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In numerous nations, it is true that overtime working is becoming increasingly prevalent. This essay will first outline the underlying reasons for this tren before showing that this is overall a negative trend. The first reason why many employees work overtime is the financial benefits, as many people want to earn more money to accommodate the basic demands of life such as foods, housing, and healthcare, improving their quality of life. Additionally, investing times in work can help individuals get opportunities to advance their career, because labors working a lot can complete their work quickly and effectively, making them get the opportunities to advance their career. This is particularly the in the fact that a lot of people who spent more hours on working and work hard often are responsibility for important roles in their company and have the higher salary, leading to the high quality of life. Those arguing overtime working is a positive trend often exaggerate the financial compensation, as this factor leads to a comfortable and fulfilling life. However, this viewpoint fails to consider the exhaustion of employees who trade off their health for work, as prolonged exposure to excessive work demands can lead to various health issue, such as hearth disease or obesity. In the worst case scenario, people earn money just for treating their diseases, resulting in a meaningless life. What is more, spending excessive amount of time on work can create the isolation from family and friends, as they can not have enough time to take care of their family and stay in touch with their social circle, leading to strained relationships and a sense of loneliness. In conclusion, while there are several reasons why overtime working is more and more common among labor market including the financial compensation and the opportunities to advance the career, I purposefully advocate that this is a negative trend because of the exhaustion and isolation of individuals.