Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, educational institutes are offering people a new mode of education which is virtual and they do not need to attend classes physically. From my perspective, this is a positive development and has many upsides while downsides are also there but cannot affect the overall resourcefulness of such kinds of platforms. To begin with, the schools are evolving these days to bring the world and students closer to educational platforms which were inaccessible in the past days. Ergo, many institutions are coaching students through the websites. For instance, the Harvard University is posting videos on Youtube which are programs recorded on various subjects to teach students who are at a distant location. Besides this, destitute populace might find online courses more affordable because they do not have to pay for charges that burden them if they have to move to that university. Next, the online studies could be easily available to population which is home bound and may not be able commute daily to college. For instance, the mothers who need to care for their child are bound to stay at home and cannot reach university due to their limitation can also avail the facility to pursue education by following the distance learning curriculum. On the contrary, distance learning has also some shortcomings. One of the reason that online courses lags is that the communication with teacher is reduced to a certain extent. A teacher has more opportunity to provide feedback and correction for students when they discuss things with each other while they are in the classroom. Doubts are cleared more effectively in the physical classroom than in an online class. A good illustration of this can be provided through an arts student namely a theatre student who may not be able to perform plays at online platform. Thus, limitation prohibits for such method of study to scale itself at a larger level. To conclude, online classes have a myriad of benefits for different individuals who otherwise may struggle due to inaccessible resources of the educational platforms. In addition, affordability also contributes to its advantages. However, disadvantages also exist and might limit its usefulness but in my viewpoint, certainly benefits are outweighing and are reasonable and these are overcoming a few shortcomings of distance education.