It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is teaching children to have moral sense that matters. And some people maybe consider it a requirement to punish kids to deal with this problem. This is probably a viable solution, but I do not agree that is the only option. First and Foremost, if punishment is necessary, children will possibly choose the right option; otherwise, they can be punished. Thus, penalty serves as a deterrent, either a fine or a family order, can impact on children' s life. For example, if they pay a fine for littering with pocket money, they may have less pocket money for covering snacks, toys, etc. However, in cases where they reoffend, they may even be required to clean the rooms and wash the dishes. Therefore, to avoid these consequences, they will choose to dispose of rubbish in the ways as instructed by the parents. Second, despite the potential outcome of punitive approach, it may not be necessary when the parents have successfully educated the children to do the appropriate thing. Young kids dump waste recklessly because they do not realize the environmental benefit of keeping environment clean. If schools and parents disseminate knowledge about disposal of refuse, children thus can develop good habits whenever possible from a young age. Moreover, some school campaigns, for instance, provide information about what items can be recycled. If children take the correct thing as a normal part of their lives, they would engage in this activity voluntarily in the absence of punishment. In conclusion, punishment may be required in some cases where children do not behave correctly, but it is unnecessary if they have been taught to make the best choice since childhood.