International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

There are different views on the impact of international tourism. While some people believe it will harm indigenous people and their environment due to the disrespectful and reckless behaviours, I still think the benefits outweigh the downsides because it helps countries to progressively have a good fiscal condition. To begin with the negative impacts, the presence of international tourists can possess threats to local people, since they tend to act disrespectful toward local cultures. Some of them might find unfamiliar values that sometimes not align with their owns, which can make them behave rudely toward local traditions and indigenous people. This condition has been occurred a few years ago in Dayak, Kalimantan. Some African tourists have been severely punished because they were spitting on one of the local tour guides that gives explanation about the sacred white stones, which turned out has a different historical value from them. However, I think this problem can be addressed by distributing a special handbook to introduce the local culture alongside its value, thus makes the visitors can do a brief skim on what they will hear during the trip. Moreover, it also harms the surrounding environments because tourists can be reckless. Due to their initial visit to some countries, there is a likelihood that they will be fascinated with landscapes or findings that they see during their trip, which possibly fail them to notice some warning and careful signs that has been issued. This phenomenon has been experienced by Bandi, an Indian tourist who visited the Sumateran the Rafflesia Arnoldi flower. Because he was too mesmerized with the flower’s appearance, he accidentally stepped on the other Rafflesia flowers. Nevertheless, I think this situation can be handled by imposing a strict regulation to control visitor’s behaviours when they visit certain places. Despite the drawbacks, international tourism has a remarkable contribution to the local and national fiscal growth. This benefit has been seen in Indonesia, which was reported to have a subtle increase on their national income by 35% last year, due to the influx of foreign visitors to Bali. Specifically on the local scale, the arrival of tourists has been stated by some sellers of street vendors in Bali as their primary source of income that eventually help them to afford daily needs. From those facts, therefore, I firmly believe that the positive outcomes have more significant impact since it can gradually increase the economic condition of local people and the country. To conclude, even though the arrival of international tourists can possibly possess dangers to local people and the surroundings environment because they can act disrespectful and reckless during their visit, I still think that the given benefit to helping locals and the country have a better financial state, far outweighs the downsides.