In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

It is becoming more common to find individuals who work in several jobs at the same time these days, whilst in the past, most workers used to have only one employment. This essay discusses the reasons behind this phenomenon, and the merits, and drawbacks to this. There are two main reasons why contemporary workers have to work at more than one job. Firstly, many individuals have financial debits. Entry-level jobs offer low salaries and people are purchasing pricy goods now. For example, many employees from boutiques have to do overwork to afford expensive products, such as electronics. Secondly, life-cost is much higher today. This is due to low offer of resources in industries because of global warming. Nevertheless, there are a few positive aspects of this development. One of these is that passion jobs are more common. This brings a sense of accomplishiment to people as they are doing something meaninful to them. For instance, many artists have to work at regular jobs during the day whislt at night, they work on their personal clients. Moreover, another merit is that one can earn more money. This is due to working extra hours and having multiple types of incomes. However, there are several downsides to this reality. The most significant one is that health problems are increasing. This is because workers often have less time to exercise and eat properly. To illustrate, many people are developing heart diseases due to overwork and wrong diet. Furthermore, one can have relationship difficulties. This is due to workers not having enough leisure time to spend with their family, which often results in familial discussions. In conclusion, the main reasons why people are employed at more than one job recently is because of financial difficulties and higher life-cost. The advantages of this lifestyle is that passion jobs are more popular and extra income is received, while the main disadvantages are health problems, and relationship conflits.