Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

People always desire to buy something, especially products that are costly and unnecessary; so, many are ended up in debt just to get something they can not afford. Many people when they started to work, it is common in the societies to get credit cards. Having the cards allows them to purchase larger things such as; phones and unnecessary gadgets. It divided the price into small fractions; making it feel like nothing, so few people can control their temptation. Also, banks are often promoting credit card privileges, and low instalment rates but not the payment procedure; many new credit card holders do not know exactly how much they can pay back, and this results in being in debt with the bank. This habit can be avoided by carefully studying the terms and conditions of each card, when, and how much it costs for the payback. Furthermore, if already hold a credit card, not all payment should be in an instalment because it requires high percentage of interests which add a lot to the final price. This would be great to teach essential financial knowledge in school to prepare financially smart people because habit forming takes time. However, credit cards does not always have negative aspects, a fair amount of people still choose to hold cards because it provides many privileges to compensate the payment but it needs to be managed wisely. Therefore, every purchase needs careful consideration before being in any debt because it will be better for everyone to stay debt-free or can wisely gain privilege benefits from credit cards.