nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self employed?

In recent years, there has been a noticeable shift towards self-employed as an alternative to traditional employment within a company. The reasons that contribute to these are, better work life balance. However, the drawbacks can be unstable income and lack of company benefits. Individuals often choose to self employed to have a greater control of their work-life balance. Different than working a 9-5 hours job, without needling to fit into someone else schedule, being self-employed allows individuals to prioritise their work and personal life in a more efficient way. For example, a lot of full time mothers in Canada prefer self-employment, therefore, they can tailor made their working schedule to accomodate the needs of looking after their children. However, the disadvantage of self-employment should not be overlooked. Working for company provides a stable income and numerous of company’s benefits. Benefits such as medical insurance, educational opportunities and subsidy, also, paid sick leaves and holidays. For instance, despite the long working hours, nurses that working in Australia public hospital have16 weeks or more annual leaves, two weeks paid study leaves and also a 120 days sick leaves. In conclusion, people that seek for better work-life balance are more willing to self employed rather than working in a company, which provides a stable income and more company’s benefits.