There is an increasing trend sround the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having small families rather than a large family.

Traditions and customs are rapidly changing. As a result, parents in many countries are now choosing to have less number of children than in the past. This essay will examine what are the main advantages and potential drawbacks from both childrens' and parents ' persperctives perspective, of having smaller families. The benefits of having only one or two children are obvious. On a very basic level, a smaller family means more money and more time together. Whereas parents with many children tend to spend their days juggling school drop-offs, and extra curricular activities, not to mention work and runnning a home. Those with only one or two have far fewer demands on their time and wallets. From the child's point of view, if they are an only child or have just one sibling, they will receive far more attention and emotinal support than if they were competing with four or five siblings for that attention. This can have long term benefits, not just for their self esteem but in their academic and professional lives too. Despite these positives, many people still consider a small family problematic. From the parent's point of view, there may be concern for their own welfare in old age. When they get older and start requiring physical assistance, there is a risk when a couple has no children or only one to take care of them. In my country, such people often end up in state owned aged care facilities, which can be impersonal and even isolating. Another concern some have with one child families is that parents are creating selfish ego maniacs. Rather than beneftting benefitting from parents ' attention as mentioned above, these youngsters can be over-parented and potentially grow up spoiled and entitled. In conclusion, although families are getting smaller in general, wheather this is a positive or not depends on the individual. Personally, while I can acknowledge the potential problems, I feel that smaller families are ultimately better off.