Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held perception that governments should spend money on other things, instead of exploring the space because it is a waste of money. I personally believe that there are other important things to spend on rather than on space exploration. One point which I believe is absolutely pivotal is the fact that there are a lot of problems on the EArth related to the well-being of people, and environment of the planet. Therefore, it would be way more sensible to spend money on the decease of regions where people suffer from famine and various kinds of diseases, or improve make some steps in order to improve the environment. Adding further credibility to the statement brings to an idea of the fact that even if companies and governments spend money on space exploration in order colonize other habitable planets, there is a high probability that colonized planet will be in the same condition as the Earth after a certain period of time. And due to this reason it seems pointless to pollute another habitable planet and spend quite a lot of money on it. Turning to the other side of the argument space exploration may give more information about the galaxy and about other factors that we are not aware of yet. What I mean by this is that science and especially space hid a lot of information that people need to know in order to improve their capabilities. To sum up, some people believe that space exploration is a waste of money, and instead of it government should spend money on other things. Personally, I believe that spending money on current problems that there are on the Earth is way better that spending the same amount of money on space exploration.