Nowadays some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In present day, the phenomenon of employers more considerable about educational certificates than the employees work experience or personalities stems from the flexibility it offered and the competition of modern workforce. However, this is a disadvantage transformation due to the fact that it contribute to the rate of unemployment. It is vital to understand that people who go through academic training are able to do a wider range of works than people with life experience. To be more specific, instead of focus on one aspect of the field, educational institutions tend to provide learners with general knowledge about many thing relating to the career which learners will do in the future. Because of this, these groups are more flexible, they can do a wide range of jobs whereas those with life experience can only specialize in one certain part of the work. Therefore people with diploma are more favourable by employers. Another point that worth consideration is the competitive workforce we are experiencing right now. It must be acknowledge that companies replace their workers so often that they only need people with good skills to finish the given works but not those with exceptional personalities to remain in the companies. This come from the high rate of well-qualified people out there seeking for businesses which offers employers with a range of choices to make in terms of recuiting new staffs. Take Vietnam as an example, many international cooperations hire temporary workers to do a particular job. Despite the fact that this development help big companies grow, it is the greatest factor to the rise of unemployment rate. Obviously, if organizations prior qualifications, people with life experience and personalities will become unemploy. Moreover, having a diploma will not indicate that individuals will have a job, many people are struggle with job hunting so it is hopeless for those with none. This will make the unemployment rate increase. For instace, many Asian countries are witnessing high percentage of underemploment people which causes by the certificates priority among cooperations. In conclusion, flexibility and the competitive workforce are the root of the change in hiring pattern. Furthermore, the jump in the proportion of citizens with no career make this transformation unbeneficial.