In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that civil developments mostly occur in big cities worldwide. Job markets are expanding according to the economic upturn. As a result, people who live in rural areas tend to relocate to the cities since they are seeking for more job opportunities. Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases significantly. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why I think that this is a negative development. To begin with, the limitation of residences in the cities causes higher home prices. There are many workers who receive minimum wages and work in the metropolitan area. If they cannot afford the living costs in the cities, they have to lower their life quality which comes with the risks of unhealthy lifestyles. For example, some people choose to live in small-shared rooms to save their money. As a result, they don’t have their private spaces which can reflect in the mental health. In addition, local businesses in the countryside will not be able to operate if there are no demands from customers. Moreover, the countryside will be quieter than what it was. It will be harder for entrepreneurs to initiate something attractive and interesting as well. For instance, if you want to open a cosmetics shop for teenagers, it will be difficult to find them. To sum up, the moving of people from rural areas to the cities has many issues. It can affect the people’s health either physically or mentally. Furthermore, the situation in the countryside will get worse due to the lack of purchase demands. As such, I considered that this is a negative development due to the two reasons above.