Today more and more people want things instantly (e.g.: goods, service, news) why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people have tended to demand goods and necessities more rapidly. This writer believes the root reason for this phenomenon is the survival instinct that lies in humans’ genes and the result of this trend may adversely affect human development. It should be acknowledged that the majority carve their demands instantly due to satisfaction caused by hormones which are released in the brain. This is because, in the past, ancient humans had to take the environment to their advantage to hunt prey and avoid predators. In order to do so, primitive humans had to observe the surroundings as quickly as possible, however, after thousands of years, the relationship between time and survival has turned into a demand for instant things for satisfaction. As a result, the rapidity of time utility has turned into a requirement in any business or service. For example, the act of transferring entertainment information used to be in oral form then evolved into news and books, and now has become short videos that stimulate the brain constantly. Despite the convenience, this essay believes shortening the length of business is harmful to human development. While many argue that the world has become too busy, therefore every business must also improve its speed to cope with the faster pace of society. However, providing unnecessary amounts of information and goods may overload the brain, making processing the given data inefficient and lower productivity. Moreover, constantly stimulating the mind, and feeding it with enormous information can shorten the attention span which is the culprit of many disorders as well as bad academic results in children. Take the Vietnamese education system for example, the system used to contain moderate knowledge about common sense, but now it consists variety of professional sectors that only suit gifted students. In conclusion, the reason why people need things in a relatively short time span is the genes that request needs and this occurrence may bring negatives to humans. Henceforth, people need to be more patient and try to live at a slower rate.