It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has a negative effect on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that the government should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to monitor their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by some that sugar poses a threat to our health and the sales of this product should be banned by the government, while others disagree and think that the elimination of sugar should be done individually. This essay will discuss both sides of this phenomenon. I tend to agree with the latter argument and will support my opinion with examples. On the one hand, it is undeniable that sugar affects people`s well-being negatevily. Firstly, numerous disease are associated with a daily consumption of sugar, including dental diseases. For instance, sugar can accelerate the process of fat accumulation and lead to ilnesses such as obesity. Moreover, a recent study has shown that people nowodays became addicted to sweets and it is challenging for them to follow a sugar free diet. Therefore, control by a government would help them to be aware of the amount of sugar they intake. And on the other hand, depriving from control over food without taking people's preferences into account has its own drawbacks. Despite the belief that sugar has an adverse effect on our body, it can also be useful in some cases. For example, eating chocolate can cheer up individuals and help to keep a high spirit even in the stressful situations. Moreover, sugar adds sweetness to foods and beverages, making them more enjoyable to consume. To conclude, sugar is considered as a harmful additive nowadays and for this reason an intake should be controled by the government. I believe that putting restrictions on sugar by government should not be implemented since sugar serves as product that can improve mood.