the number of students studying science is constantly declining. what do you think are the causes and effects on our society?

In recent years, it is observed that science subject is becoming unpopular among students, due to the low financial income paid for science compared to business or finance. As we rely on new technologies to grow our system, it could pose challenges for the society as without newcomers in the field, there would be less novel innovations to serve the future needs of mankind. Interestingly, although scientific innovations contribute significantly to our lives from household technology to healthcare, the salary for researchers and scientists is on the lower side. Indeed, many annual reports show that the yearly incomes of professionals working in financial sector are higher than those who work in research and development. This discrepancy creates a sense of unfairness and drives young students away from the scietific field and toward the perceived money-making pathways. In addition, it is inevitable that science is the field fueled by the creativity of youth. For instance, Bill Gates wrote his Microsoft software in his twenties, while Steve Job worked on his first ipad protocol very early in his life.The unbalance in distribution of workforce will eventually turn the field fueled by young and fresh ideas into an area of old faces. As a result, the society may witness less discoveries in the near future, and it will slow down our development rate. In a nutshell, the low payrate for science-related occupations is putting a barrier for youngsters to study the subjects. In fact, our lives will be affcected as we will have less innovative products in the future.